the phone-home register

LM Studio

What LM Studio sends out of your computer by default, when, to whom, and the switch that stops it, version by version, with how we know.

The answer

Per its desktop-app privacy policy, read on 2026-10-10 (its source is not public; 0.4.26 was the newest release on its changelog that day): when LM Studio checks for updates it sends the app version and build and the operating system, and your IP address, which the policy says its content delivery network adds, with no switch documented and the host and frequency not stated; a model search sends your query, which the policy calls anonymized, only when you search or download in the app; its cloud models and web search run on its providers' servers once you buy and use them.

Builds and versions

not installed: its privacy policy (effective June 2026) read on 2026-10-10On by default?when chosen · read in its own privacy policy; yes · read in its own privacy policyMeasured here?no · in the vendor's documentsDate checked (UTC)2026-10-10
Version
0.4.26 (the newest release on its changelog on 2026-10-10; its policy names no version) · the desktop app (0.4.26 is the newest release on its changelog on 2026-10-10; the policy names no version)
Where the evidence came from
not run: its privacy policy applies to the desktop app
On by default?
when chosen · read in its own privacy policy; yes · read in its own privacy policy
Measured here?
no · in the vendor's documents
Date checked (UTC)
2026-10-10
Why we say so
its desktop app privacy policy read whole on 2026-10-10; its desktop app privacy policy read whole on 2026-10-10 (a private digest of the fetched bytes is kept)

Each call out

update check · 0.4.26 (the newest release on its changelog on 2026-10-10; its policy names no version)

Version · build
0.4.26 (the newest release on its changelog on 2026-10-10; its policy names no version) · the desktop app (0.4.26 is the newest release on its changelog on 2026-10-10; the policy names no version) · not run: its privacy policy applies to the desktop app · not installed: its privacy policy (effective June 2026) read on 2026-10-10
Sends by default
yes · read in its own privacy policy
Kind
reports · checks
Trigger
on its own
When
Per its privacy policy: when the app checks for updates; how often, and to which host, was not stated. Its source is not public; this row rests on its privacy policy, read on 2026-10-10.
Where
update service
What it sends
app version and build, operating system (software); your IP address, which its policy says its content delivery network adds (network)
The vendor's stated purpose
“To help deliver the right app updates for your specific device configuration and to give us an understanding of the software and hardware spread of our user-base.” — the policy's 'Why' line under 'When the App Checks for Updates' (quoted whole), read 2026-10-10
Grade and method
read · its desktop app privacy policy read whole on 2026-10-10 (a private digest of the fetched bytes is kept) · read 2026-10-10
Receipts
its desktop app privacy policy, 'When the App Checks for Updates'

The switch

do not search in the app

Accepted values
download models yourself
What it is
a choice in the app
Where it must be set
in how you get models · turn them off
Proof
documented behaviour; not tested by us
For the call
model search · 0.4.26 (the newest release on its changelog on 2026-10-10; its policy names no version)

No switch found for: update check · 0.4.26 (the newest release on its changelog on 2026-10-10; its policy names no version).

Listens beyond the machine, and other cloud features

Listens beyond the machine by default

  • not covered here (0.4.26 (the newest release on its changelog on 2026-10-10; its policy names no version) the desktop app (0.4.26 is the newest release on its changelog on 2026-10-10; the policy names no version))

Other cloud features

  • cloud models and web search, processed on its providers' servers once you buy and use them · to avoid it: do not buy or use the cloud features · lmstudio.ai · app-privacy

What it leaves on disk

Nothing we know of.

Brings in, and installed for you by

None on the register.

Credit

None recorded.

Vendor documents it? · public discussion

Vendor documents it?

  • model search · 0.4.26 (the newest release on its changelog on 2026-10-10; its policy names no version): yes · Its privacy policy says model searches send anonymized queries, gives the three reasons above, and adds: "We do not track individual search patterns nor create user profiles based on your model preferences." · lmstudio.ai · app-privacy · read 2026-10-10
  • update check · 0.4.26 (the newest release on its changelog on 2026-10-10; its policy names no version): yes · Its privacy policy says what the update check carries and why; it names no switch. · lmstudio.ai · app-privacy · read 2026-10-10

Public discussion

History

No dated changes yet.

Not yet checked

Nothing named.